Joan Didion Book Set

While Joan Didion never intended to become a writer, the world of literature would not be the same without her. She explored her subjects in many different styles evolving her voice throughout her lifetime. Find a mix of all her unique work in our Joan Didion set!

Writing about her life in California and the emerging counterculture of the 60's and 70's, 'Slouching Towards Bethlehem' is in the style of New Journalism. Later she moved to writing more political pieces in the 80's and 90's. The 2000's came with her husband and daughter's health taking a downward toll, resulting in a slight shift in style. She broke into memoir with 'The Year of Magical Thinking', but kept a hint of her journalist roots. 

Our design takes inspiration from Didion's life in California with its setting sun, desert plains, and bright colors, reminiscent of the block print look of the 'Play It as It Lays' vintage cover from 1970. The books chosen for this set are published by Knopf and Library of America. 

This set makes an awesome gift for fans of Didion's work, or any avid reader you know!

  1. Let Me Tell You What I Mean by Joan Didion
  2. South and West by Joan Didion
  3. The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion
  4. Joan Didion: The 1960's & 70's
    1. Run River
    2. Slouching Towards Bethlehem
    3. Play It as It Lays
    4. A Book of Common Prayer
    5. The White Album
  5. Joan Didion: The 1980's & 90's
    1. Salvador
    2. Democracy
    3. Miami
    4. The Last Thing He Wanted


Weight: 5.02 lb

Width: 5.25 inches x Height: 8.25 inches x Depth: 5.5 inches

This set ships in 1-3 business days.