Obvious State - George Eliot Book Set

Mary Ann Evans, better known by her pen name, George Eliot, became the talk of England in 1859 with the publication of her first novel, Adam Bede. Eliot, a favorite writer of Queen Victoria, embodied the realities of rural society in the Victorian era in her novels as exemplified in her masterpiece, Middlemarch. We have taken a collection of Eliot’s most beloved works and wrapped them in jackets with one-of-a-kind artwork from the creative team at Obvious State.

“Mary Anne Evans smuggled her stories into the public sphere under the pseudonym “George Eliot.” I wanted to illustrate that fact, the woman behind the male pen name, which parallels a tension in her stories between passionate, independent characters and the rigid Victorian society in which they lived.” – Evan Robertson, Obvious State

The books in the set are clothbound hardcover volumes published by Everyman’s Library, complete with silk reading-ribbons, acid-free, natural cream-colored paper, and European-style half-round spines.

Juniper Books custom collection includes artwork you won't find with these books anywhere else. The Obvious State sets are a brilliant and unexpected gift for literary lovers.

  1. The Mill on the Floss
  2. Middlemarch
  3. Daniel Deronda
  4. Adam Bede
  5. Silas Marner


Weight: 9.0 lb

Width: 7.5 inches x Height: 8.25 inches x Depth: 5.25 inches

This set ships in 1-3 business days.